Former Freedom golfer Zach Juhasz wins second straight Lehigh Valley Tournament of Champions

October 19, 2018

PALMERTON, Pa. — Zach Juhasz of Bethlehem Township started working with Lehigh Valley Golf Hall of Fame inductee Paul Viola last September.
Now, the 2015 Freedom High School graduate has won three regional amateur titles.
Juhasz, 21, managed to hold a small lead throughout the back nine on Sunday, October 14 at Blue Shamrock Golf Club to win the 29th annual Lehigh Valley Tournament of Champions.
Juhasz rallied with a final round even-par 34-35–69 to finish 36 holes of regulation play at 3-over-par 141 to win his second consecutive Lehigh Valley Tournament of Champions title.
Jim Maru of Allentown was second at 70-72-142.
By virtue of his sixth place finish, Old Dominion University student Chad Hess of Upper Macungie Township clinched 2018 Lehigh Valley Player of the Year honors.
Trailing first round co-leaders Maru and Lee Nonnemacher of Richlandtown by two strokes entering the final round, Juhasz shot even-par 34 on Sunday’s front nine to tie Maru for the lead at 3-over-par.
Juhasz, who won the 2018 Allentown City Amateur Stroke Play Championship, birdied the par-5 11th hole to take a one stroke lead over Maru and Nonnemacher, who birdied the 10th and 11th holes.
Juhasz parred holes 12-to-17 to maintain a two-stroke edge over Maru. Juhasz bogeyed the final hole for the final victory margin of one shot.
Juhasz credited his victory to accurate driving off the tee.
“I drove it well,” said Juhasz, who qualified for the 2014 PIAA Golf Championship. “I didn’t get myself into trouble. I didn’t lose a ball all week.”
In the Senior Amateur Division, Tommy Arnold of Lower Macungie Township shot 4-over-par 70-72–142 to win by one stroke.
A former Parkland golfer (1984), the 52-year-old Arnold prevailed by a stroke over James Boburka of Bethlehem (73-70–143), and Tom Soares of Lower Macungie Township (73-70-143). Soares won the event in 2014.

29th annual Lehigh Valley Tournament of Champions
Blue Shamrock Golf Club (par 69)
Final 36-Hole Scores:
1. Zachary Juhasz 72-69-141 (3-over-par); 2. Jim Maru 70-72-142; 3-T. David Blichar 74-70-144, Lee Nonnemacher 70-74-144; 5. Michael Englert III 75-70-145; 6. Chad Hess 73-73-146; 7. Matthew Vital 72-75-147; 8. John Dimler 78-70-148; 9-T. Mark Coassolo 78-71-149, Andrew Bradley 75-74-149.
1. Tommy Arnold 72-70-142 (4-over-par); 2-T. James Boburka 73-70-143, Tom Soares 73-70-143; 4-T. Robin McCool 73-71-144, Jeff Wiedecke 72-72-144; 6. Jeff Hudson 73-74-147; 7. Sal Picone 73-75-148; 8. Dominic Carr 72-77-149; 9. Mark Choi 77-75-152; 10. Fred Lening 74-80-154; 11. David Strohl 73-82-155.
1. Charlie Supp 80-76-156 (won title with a birdie on the first sudden-death playoff hole); 2. John McCurry 77-79-156; 3. Rich Kovacs 83-75-158.

  Back To News