Defending champion Cody Cox wins opening round match at 82nd Lehigh Valley Amateur

September 27, 2018

BETHLEHEM TWP. — Cody Cox is ready to defend his title.
Cox, a 23 year-old Milford, PA resident, won 5-and-4 over Dan Cahill in Thursday’s opening round matches of the 82nd Lehigh Valley Amateur at Green Pond Country Club.
Cox, a former Penn State (2017) golfer, won the 2018 Bethlehem Golf Club Amateur Stroke Play Championship, and qualified for the 2018 U.S. Amateur.
The round of 32 is scheduled for Friday, with the championship match slated for Sunday afternoon.
Cox holed out a 42-yard chip for eagle on the par-4 fourth hole, and sank a 10-footer for birdie on the par-4 fifth hole en route to building a 4-up lead through nine holes. Unofficially, he shot 3-under-par through 14 holes.
“I hit a lot of drivers to get closer so I could take the spin off,” Cox said. “The greens are soft. I didn’t make too many putts, but I had a lot of looks. I still have a game plan. The mentality is pretty much the same. If I execute my game plan, I can be tough to beat.”
Jason Wilson of South Whitehall Township, one of the top pre-tournament title favorites, defeated former Northampton Country Club champion Jesse Bingaman 2-and-1.
Wilson, 44, won the 2017 Pennsylvania Mid-Amateur title, 2017 Lehigh Valley Medal Play Championship, and the 2010 Lehigh Valley Inter-Club Championship. He will be inducted into the Lehigh Valley Golf Hall of Fame in October.
Nazareth native Nate Fry, the 2008 runner-up, won a tight match over Alex Green of Bethlehem Township 2-and-1.
Fry, one of the regional top amateur golfers, regained his amateur status in 2016 after several years as a club professional.
A semifinalist in 2006 and 2017, the 35-year-old Fry won the 2012 National Car Rental Philadelphia Section PGA Assistant Championship at Whitemarsh Valley Country Club. Fry qualified for the 2000 PIAA state tournament as a senior at Nazareth High School. Fry was a 2003 national junior college tournament runner-up.
Three past Lehigh Valley Amateur champions advanced to the second round: Cox, 2015 winner Justin Tresslar of Saylorsburg, who defeated Leo Fischl of Northampton 3-and-2; and 2013 champion Grant Schumaker, who beat 2008 semifinalist Zach Fischl of Northampton 4-and-2.
Brian Johnson, the 2008 & 2011 champion, was all square with 2016 winner Tony Sarko after 18 holes. They wlll continue their match Friday morning at 8:00 a.m.
Two past champions lost: 2014 champion Kevin Rossi of Scranton lost 1-up to 2015 runner-up Bob Posocco of Upper Macungie Township. Phil Ries of Greenwich Township, the 2009 winner, lost 5-and-3 to 2017 Lehigh Valley Tournament of Champions winner Zach Juhasz of Bethlehem Township.
Other top players advancing Thursday were two-time Lehigh Valley Mid-Amateur champion Joe Coulson, four-time Northeast PA Stroke Play winner John Olszewski of Upper Macungie Township, and former Saucon Valley Country Club assistant pro Andrew Bradley of Bethlehem.
Steve Kluemper of Bethlehem, a 2014 semifinalist, was all square with Mike Kacelowicz through 18 holes.

82nd Lehigh Valley Amateur
Green Pond Country Club
Match Play Results:
Championship Flight (opening round)
First Tee
Upper Bracket:
Cody Cox (defending champion) def. Dan Cahill 5-and-4, Schuyler Hart def. Kyle Henofer 2-up
Kyle Pritchard def. Brendan Mohler 4-and-2, John Olszewski def. Ryan Caverly 8-and-7
Riley Hogan def. Dan Howard 4-and-3, Will Marquette def. Marc Ashner 2-and-1
Matt Long def. Brandon Nardella 4-and-3, John Buliga def. Trever Mertz 3-and-2
Jason Wilson def. Jesse Bingaman 2-and-1, Lee Nonnemacher and Mike Casella all square through 19 holes
Connor Vanin def. Mike Englert 4-and-3, Steve Castellani def. Jason Barkley 4-and-3
Steve Kluemper and Mike Kacelowicz all square through 19 holes, Justin Tresslar def. Leo Fischl 3-and-2
Jim Rattigan def. Frank Betz 2-and-1, Zach Juhasz def. Phil Ries 5-and-3
Tenth Tee
Lower Bracket:
Bob Posocco def. Kevin Rossi (qualifying medalist) 1-up, Kyle Buchman def. Tyler Smith 1-up, 19 holes
Lonnie Pintande def. Kevin Fisher 7-and-5, Joe Coulson def. Rob Arnts 4-and-3
Brian Johnson and Tony Sarko all square through 18 holes, Grant Schumaker def. Zach Fischl 4-and-2
Andrew Frank def. Trevor Buss 4-and-3, Jason Matuczinsk def. Tyler Smith 2-and-1
Ryan Orcutt def. Randy Brown 4-and-3, Jim Maru def. Kevin Kunkle 3-and-2
Joe Jasinski def. Mike Dickey 4-and-3, Bill Ianieri def. Kyle Morrow 4-and-3
Nate Fry def. Alex Green 2-and-1, Eric Ostrosky and Dave Olexson all square
Chris Sakasits def. John Hartzell 2-and-1, Andrew Bradley def. Ryan Matuczinski 7-and-5

First Flight (opening round)
First Tee
Upper Bracket:
Pat Denman def. Sean Sullivan 7-and-6, Rich Eilenberger def. Dan Setar 3-and-2
Scott Radio def. Steve Gonzales 1-up, 19 holes, Dan Dunlap def. Justin Shireman 2-and-1
Erik Stevens def. Don Keiser 1-up, Tony Malia def. Rick Weaver 6-and-5
Dave Frantz def, Mike Miorelli 3-and-2, John Renner def. John Ryan 1-up
Mike Weiner def. Jeff Hamley 5-and-4, Bob Engler def. Brian Egan 6-and-5
Kyle Hutnik def. Doug Eldridge 6-and-5, John Jaques def. Rob Johnson 1-up
Matt Crilley def. Kevin Gertz 1-up, 2- holes, Aaron Thieme def. Billy Hallman 2-and-1
Mike Hersch Jr. def. Stefano Curto 3-and-2, Freddy Carmona def. Dan Kremus 1-up
Tenth Tee
Lower Bracket:
Ken Bontz def. Dale Barker 3-and-2, Brandon Sluzalis def. Gary Greenberg 9-and-8
Rob Smith def. Derek Kressler 2-and-1, Adam Sutovich def. Tom Prestia 1-up
Mark Weiner def. Bryan Barker 2-and-1, Adam Benza def. Charles Strong 5-and-4
Matt Scriff def. Matthew Vital 2-and-1, Josh Richards def. Scott Clark 4-and-3
Nick Engleman def. Rich Kovacs 4-and-3, Bob Evans def. Tom Coakley 3-and-2
Mat Wearing def. Matt Greenawald 2-up, Adam Puskar def. Coley Burke 6-and-5
Chris Erb def. James Mack 1-up, Bret Howey def. Travis Burkholder 2-and-1
Rob Schubach def. Dave Purdy 5-and-3, Bill Reduzzi def. Nick Hinkle 3-and-2

First Flight (second round)
First Tee
Upper Bracket:
Rich Eilenberger def. Pat Denman 5-and-4, Scott Radio def. Dan Dunlap 4-and-3, Erik Stevens def. Tony Malia 6-and-5, Dave Frantz vs. John Renner, Mike Weiner vs. Bob Engler , Kyle Hutnik vs. John Jaques, Matt Crilley vs. Aaron Thieme, Freddy Carmona def. Mike Hersch Jr. 4-and-3.
Tenth Tee
Lower Bracket:
Ken Bontz vs. Brandon Sluzalis, Rob Smith vs. Adam Sutovich, Mark Weiner vs. Adam Benza, Josh Richards def. Matt Scriff 5-and-4, Nick Engleman vs. Bob Evans, Mat Wearing vs. Adam Puskar, Chris Erb vs. Bret Howey, Bill Reduzzi def. Rob Schubach 4-and-2.

27th Lehigh Valley Senior Amateur Match Play Championship
Championship Flight (opening round)
First Tee
Upper Bracket:
John Martin def. Robin McCool (defending champion) 2-and-1, Bob Schubach def. Don Gretta 4-and-2, Joseph Kizer def. Don Wilderotter 7-and-6, Fred Lening def. Linc Treadwell 2-and-1, Jeff Wiedecke def. Ike Haluska 2-up, John Albenzi def. Charles Leon 5-and-4, Alan Orchard def. Andy Brown 1-up, Dave Blichar def. Tom Soares 1-up.
Tenth Tee
Lower Bracket:
Mike Hogan def. Jeff Kortina 1-up, Greg Buliga def. Eric Pacala 4-and-3, Jeff Hudson def. Jim Duke 6-and-4, Mike Guro def. Chris Daniels 4-and-3, Joe Roeder def. Dominic Carr 1-up, Tom Egolf def. James Boburka 4-and-3, Bill Briggs def. Ed Domin 6-and-4, Shane Gunning def. Dave Strohl 2-and-1.

Lehigh Valley Super-Senior Amateur
Championship Flight (opening round)
Upper Bracket:
Ed Kluemper (defending champion) def. Ernie Nepa 3-and-2, Keith Henritzy def. Del Patterson 2-up, Dylan Spadt def. John Mace 3-and-1, Joe Masulli def, Mike Freundel 1-up.
Lower Bracket:
Lex Wilkinson def. Tom Lusto 1-up, Bruce Jodoin def. Peter Desaverio 6-and-5, Ben Spence def. Ed Striesel 4-and-2, Steve Domitrowits def. Jack Booros 1-up.

  Back To Blog